Finalists For The 2016 Trench Award Announced

The six finalists who will perform at The 2016 Trench Award in Birr Theatre & Arts Centre on Sunday 1 Mayhave been announced.


They are sopranos Nicole Robinson (Banagher, Offaly), Sarah Brady (Mullingar, Westmeath) and Rachel Goode (Ballinasloe, Roscommon), tenor Philip Keegan (Tullamore, Offaly), violinist Lucia McPartlin (Killaloe, Tipperary) and on the flute will be fellow

Finalists For The 2016 Trench Award Announced

Tipperary native Emma Kenrick from Clonmel

Now in its third year, The Trench Award is a bursary which aims to assist young singers and musicians who are pursuing a career in professional performance in the field of classical music.


Each finalist will perform a 15 minute programme at the special gala concert at Birr Theatre & Arts Centre onSunday, 1 May, 7.30pm when the bursary will be awarded by a prestigious selection panel.


John Molloy (bass-baritone), Nicholas Chalmers (Director Northern Ireland Opera/ Neville Holt Opera) and Enda O’Connor (M.A./Conductor) are among the selection panel with Mairéad Hurley, professional accompanist.


Co-ordinator of The Trench Award, Maureen de Forge, said: ‘Those who have reached this final are either in their degree year, studying for their masters, or in Opera Studios abroad. All have had professional performance experience with orchestras or opera companies and will provide a wonderful and varied programme of music.’


‘An added bonus for the audience will be the playing of Tríona Marshall, harp, and Martin Tourish, who have recently completed a very successful national tour, and recorded a CD together. Tríona has a special link to the event as she was the recipient of the beautiful Trench Harp at the start of her career.’


Tickets for The 2016 Trench Award are on sale now. €16/14. Sunday 1 May, 7.30pm. To Box Office (057) 91 22911

Comments are closed.