Raheen GAA Club 6th March

The numbers drawn in Monday [27th Feb 2012] night’s Lotto were 01 02 14 26. There was no Jackpot Winner of €5,600 and 1 Match 3 Winner [Betty Guinan C/O Dermot Guinan] [€200]. Next week’s draw will take place in  Doyles’s, Killeigh on Monday 12th March 2012.

Raheen Intermediate Footballers suffered another defeat in Round 3 of the Div 1 Football League against St Brigids in Geashill last Sunday afternoon on a scoreline of 1-09 to 0-03. In a disappointing first half scoring chances were few but it was St Brigids who made the most of their’s as they established a half time lead of 5 points to no score. In the second half St Brigids added a further 1-02 before Raheen finally got off the mark with a pointed free from Paddy Rigney with 10 mins left. The remaining minutes saw both sides add another 2 points as St Brigids held on for the win.
RAHEEN: Mark Byrne, Tommy Spollen, Brian Corcoran, Paddy Arnold, Shane Carroll, Ciaran Coughlan, Keith Quinn, Mark Gorman, Brian Kehoe, Paddy Rigney (0-01), Noel Gorman, Jack Keogh, Eoghan Bolton, Damien Arnold, Niall Dempsey.
SUBS: Matthew O’Byrne (for Keith Quinn), Mikey Keogh (for Paddy Rigney), Cathal Maher (for Noel Gorman), Liam Boland (for Jack Keogh), Richie Reynolds (0-02) (for Eoghan Bolton).

Raheen Junior Footballers suffered a defeat to Shannonbridge in their opening fixture of the Div 4 League last Friday evening in Geashill on a scoreline of 3-06 to 1-13. Raheen who started the game with just the bare 15 players were 4 points down midway through the first half and despite conceeding another 6 points before half time Raheen clawed their way back into it by scoring 2 goals both of which came from high balls into the square which were dropped by the keeper into the path of the Raheen forwards who dispatched the ball to the net , the first from Paul Garry and the second from Darren Monagher. Raheen also added 2 points to trail at the break by just 0-10 to 2-02. Raheen cut the deficit to just a single point before taking the lead for the only time mid way through the second half by scoring their 3rd goal when Eoghan Bolton caught a high ball before turning and rounding the keeper to finish his shot to the net. Shannonbridge re-took the lead moments later by scoring their only goal momemnts later and with both sides adding just 1 more point it was Shannonbridge who held on to claim the win. While Raheen lost out in the game their was encouragement to be taken from the commanding displays put in by the 2 Raheen players making their debuts at adult level Fintan Pierce in goals and Mikey Keogh at corner back.
RAHEEN: Fintan Pierce, Mikey Keogh, Declan Costello, Ciaran Direen, Craig O’Halloran, Jack Keogh (0-01), Paddy Arnold, Nigel Gorman, Noel Gorman, Sean Gorman, Liam Gorman (0-02), Jonathan Byrne, Darren Monagher (1-00), Paul Garry (1-02), Eoghan Bolton (1-01).
SUB: Matthew O’Byrne (for Darren Monagher).

Raheen Hurlers continue their Div 3 Hurling League campaign by taking on neighbours Killeigh in Killeigh this weekend. (Time & Date unknown at time of going to print – Check the Raheen GAA Facebook page for details). All support would be appreciated.

Raheen GAA Social Initiative Group’s Second Outing for this year takes place on St Patrick’s Day with a trip to Croke Park for the All Ireland Club Finals where Offaly’s Coolderry will be looking to capture their first All Ireland title. Coach transport will be provided with a charge of €20 applying which includes the match ticket. The outing is open to all members of the community (young and old) in the catchment area of Raheen GAA And also neighbouring clubs. For more information, to book your place  or if you know anybody who may be interested in going please contact Pauric Pierce (087 6833535) or Eddie Kaye (086) 0757679

Members are asked to renew their membership as soon as possible but all membership must be paid by the end of January 2012. This year there are 2 membership options. Option 1 includes entry in our weekly club lotto draw and Subscriptions are Playing Members €120, Students/ OAP’s & Non Playing Members €110. Option 2 is the same as previous years and Subscriptions are Playing Members €30, Students/ OAP’s €15 & Non Playing Members €20. Payments can be given to Membership Officers Shane Carroll, Padraig Direen or Craig O’Halloran. New members are very welcome.

Comments are closed.