Raheen GAA Club notes 20th Feb

Raheen’s early season Fundrasing event a Buster Night at the Dogs in Mullingar Greyhound Stadium took place last Saturday night and was very well attended where a very enjoyable night was had by all. The winner of the First Prize €500 in the Buster Race on the night was Miss Rachel Hackett C/O John Hackett. There was also a Raffle on the night and the following were the winners: Jane Griffin,  John Kirwan, Dermot Murphy, Gerry Kelly [€50 Each] ; Mary Pierce and Mary Kirwan [Raheen Training Top Each].  We would like to congratulate all the winners on their success. The club would also like to Thank all those who bought and sold tickets on behalf of the club which made the event a huge success.

The numbers drawn in Monday [13th Feb 2012] night’s Lotto were  04 10 15 27. There was no Jackpot Winner of €5,200 and 3 Match 3 Winners [Jackie Kaye C/O Eddie Kaye; Andy Brophy C/O Paul O’Rourke; Aoife Fitzsimons C/O Liz Gorman] [€70 Each]. Next week’s draw will take place in Murphy’s, Cloneygowan on Monday 27th Feb 2012.

Raheen Intermediate Footballers put in a battling display as they were defeated by a strong Rhode Senior side in their Div 1 League encounter last Saturday afternoon in Rhode on a scoreline of 0-11 to 1-04. Raheen put it up to their more illustrious opponents for most of the first half as they were tied at 2 points apiece and Raheen missed a penalty before Rhode edged in front with 2 points in the dying minutes of the half to go in at the break leading 0-04 to 0-02. The second half saw Rhode stretch clear scoring 7 points to Raheen’s 2 but with 3 minutes left Raheen were given a lifeline when a run by Richie Reynolds in along the end line saw him find space to shoot low across the goal to the corner of the net for the only goal of the game and on the stroke of full time Raheen were awarded a second penalty which could have reduced the defecit to the minimum but this was saved by the keeper.
RAHEEN: Mark Byrne, Tommy Spollen, Niall Leavy, Paddy Arnold, Shane Carroll. Ciaran Coughlan, Keith Quinn, Brian Keogh, Mark Gorman, Richie Reynolds (1-02), Noel Gorman, Niall Dempsey (0-01), Liam Gorman, Damien Arnold, Jack Keogh.
SUBS: Declan Costello (for Niall Leavy), Cathal Maher (for Niall Dempsey), Sean Gorman (0-01) (for Liam Gorman), Eoghan Bolton (for Jack Keogh).

Raheen Hurlers get their Div 3 League campaign underway this Saturday afternoon (25th Feb) @ 3:00pm as they take on Shamrocks at home in Geashill. All support would be appreciated.   .

Members are asked to renew their membership as soon as possible but all membership must be paid by the end of January 2012. This year there are 2 membership options. Option 1 includes entry in our weekly club lotto draw and Subscriptions are Playing Members €120, Students/ OAP’s & Non Playing Members €110. Option 2 is the same as previous years and Subscriptions are Playing Members €30, Students/ OAP’s €15 & Non Playing Members €20. Payments can be given to Membership Officers Shane Carroll, Padraig Direen or Craig O’Halloran. New members are very welcome.

Comments are closed.