Raheen GAA Club Notes


The numbers drawn in Monday [18THApril] night’s Lotto were  15 20 21 28. There was no Jackpot winner of €2,800 and 5 Match 3 Winners [Brigid Malone C/O JJ Malone; Geraldine Bryan C/O Geashill P/O; JFP C/O JFP; Berneice Quinn Fenter; Clo Dillon C/O Mary Brophill] [€40 Each]. Next weeks draw will take place in High Chaparell, Geashill  on TUESDAY 03 May.


Raheen Intermediate Footballers begin their quest for championship glory when they commence their 2011 Championship campaign on this Friday April 29th as they take on St Brigids in Gracefield at 7:00pm. Best of Luck to players and management. All supporters are encouraged to attend.


Raheen Hurlers suffered their first defeat of the year last Monday week against Tullamore in O’Brien Pk, Tullamore in their Div 3 League encounter on a scoreline of 3-09 to 0-12. The opening 20 mins was an evenly balanced affair with Tullamore just shading it on the scoreboard as they got off the mark with 3 points and Raheen opening their account with 2 points from Keith Quinn. The final 10 mins of the half saw Raheen draw level and then pull ahead as they put over 4 points without reply from Paddy Rigney (3) and Keith Quinn which.saw Raheen lead at the break by 0-06 to 0-03. Tullamore drew level within 30 secs of the re-start when they fired in their first goal but for the next 10 mins Raheen restored their lead firing over 4 points from Brian Kennedy. Paddy Rigney (2) and Keith Quinn to which Tullamore replied with 2 points. Then in a 5 minute spell from the mid point of the half on came the turning point of the game as Tullamore swung it in their favour by scoring 2-02 with Raheen replying with just 2 points from Brian Kennedy and Michael James Pierce which proved to be Raheen’s final score. Then in the final 10 mins Tullamore sealed the win by putting over the last 2 points.

RAHEEN: Padraig Direen, Craig O’Halloran, Jason Hassett, Ian O’Halloran, Fionan Direen, Paddy Rigney (0-06), Sean Martin Pierce, Steve Coughlan, Brian Kennedy (0-02) , Colm Pidgeon, Keith Quinn(0-03), Michael James Pierce (0-01), Eana Direen, Tony O’Toole, Paddy Arnold.

SUBS: Gary Martin (for Tony O’Toole)


Raheen GAA would like to congratulate Shane & Jacinta Carroll on the birth of their baby daughter Anna last weekend.


Raheen GAA would like to extend deepest sympathy to the family of the late Kieran Murphy, Walsh Island following their recent bereavement. RIP.


The Annual O’Connor Park Fundraising Draw Tickets are now available from any committee member at €100 each. There are 3 monthly draws with a Prize Fund of €16,500. There is also a final draw with a prize fund of a New Car (Value €13,000) and €15,500. Your support would be much appreciated.


Members are asked to renew their membership as soon as possible. Subscriptions are Adults €30, Students/ OAP’s €15 & Non Playing Members €20. Payments can be given to Membership Officers Shane Carroll or Padraig Direen. New members are very welcome.


Check out the new Raheen GAA Facebook site which is full of interesting comments and information about the club including up to date fixture details.

Comments are closed.