Na Fianna GAA Football Club


Na Fianna U14 Footballers began their 2011 Championship campaign last Friday evening against Edenderry in Edenderry but unfortunately it was Edenderry who claimed the win on a scoreline of 8-05 to 3-05. Edenderry got going straight from the throw in and after the first 15 mins they had got off the mark by scoring 2-02 to which Na Fianna opened their account with 2 points from David Buckley and Jack O’Brien. Edenderry pulled ahead again in the 22nd min with their 3rd goal when a shot came off the post and into the hands of the forward who finished it to the net. This sprung Na Fianna into action and they were rewarded 5 minutes later when Colin McDermott’s shot from out around the 65m line went all the way in and through the legs of the keeper to the back of the net for Na Fianna’s opening goal and they added 2 more points from Dylan Hyland and Colin McDermott before the end of the half. This saw Edenderry go in at the break leading by 3-02 to 1-04. Edenderry increased their lead with 2 points inside the first minute of the second half. Then in the 10th minute Na Fianna gave themselves hope by getting their 2nd goal when Colin McDermott’s shot from midfield was taken by Clint Horan just inside the box and laid it off to David Buckley who who shot it to the net but Edenderry went straight down the field and fired in another goal. Na Fianna kept going and 5 minutes later were rewarded with their 3rd goal when Kevin Kinahan caught the ball on the edge of the square, turned and blasted his shot to the net but yet again from the kickout Edenderry replied immediately with another goal. This proved to be the breaking point for Na Fianna as over the remaining 15 mins Edenderry pulled clear to seal the win by adding 3-01 to Na Fianna’s reply of 1 point from Clint Horan.

NA FIANNA: James Boland, Liam Langton, Kevin Kinahan (1-00), John Cummins, John Tobin, Colin McDermott (1-01), Colm Corcoran, Clint Horan (0-01), Kevin Leen, Ray Daly, Dylan Hyland (0-01), Adam Kelly, Sean Rigney, David Buckley (1-01), Jack O’Brien (0-01).

SUBS: Colin Keogh, Gavin Murphy, Owen Garry, Conor O’Meara, Brendan Crilly, Stephen Dwane, CJ Reilly.


Na Fianna Minor Footballers put in an excellant display as they completely demolished the challenge of last year’s Minor Champions Rhode Og in their Minor League encounter last Sunday morning in Rhode on a scoreline of 5-16 to 0-06 to register their first win of the campaign. Ironically it was Rhode who opened the scoring with the first 2 points but by the mid point of the half Na Fianna had gone in front with their first 5 points from Richie Reynolds (3), Gary Martin and Niall Dempsey with a single point reply from Rhode. In the 16th min Na Fianna began to pull clear by scoring their 1st goal when a shot came off the crossbar and grabbed by Aaron Dwane who blasted his shot to the net quickly followed by 2 Na Fianna points from Richie Reynolds and Gary Martin along with a Rhode point before Na Fianna fired in their 2nd goal in the 26th min when Aaron Dwane’s shot in a crowded box went all the through to the net. Na Fianna added 2 more points from gary Martin before the end of the half to go in at the break with a commanding lead of 2-09 to 0-04. Again amazingly it was Rhode who scored the first 2 points of the second half but any hope of a comeback were quashed in the 8th min with Na Fianna’s 3rd goal when a run through the middle by Gary Martin saw him take a pass from Ronan Crombie before firing his shot across the sqaure to the right cornet of the net. Rhode’s cause was not helped 10 mins in when they were reduced to 14 with their no 18 getting a second yellow card. Na Fianna then added 2 points from Dean Cahill and David Jordan before firing in their 4th goal at the midpoint of the half when Jason Darby took a high ball on the endline and passed it to Dean Cahill in the box to shoot it to net and a minute later Aaron Dwane claimed his hattrick of goals as he finished Na Fianna’s 5th goal to the net. Thereafter for the remainder of game with their win well and truly sealed Na Fianna could afford to ease up as they saw out the half adding just 5 more points from Ibrahaim Afolavi (2), Dean Cahill and Aaron Dwane.

NA FIANNA: Adam Kinahan, Dean Pierce, Jonathan Byrne, Dan Floody, Brain Crombie, Jack Keogh, David Jordan (0-01), Richie Reynolds (0-05), Niall Dempsey (0-01), Ronan Crombie, Gary Martin (1-04) , Ibrahaim Afolavi (0-02), Tomas Fitzpatrick, Jason Darby, Aaron Dwane (3-01).

SUBS: Dean Cahill  (1-02) (for Ibrahaim Afolavi), Ibrahaim Afolavi (for Tomas Fitzpatrick)


Na Fianna U16 Footballers will be looking for their first win when they continue their Championship campaign next Monday 25th April at 7pm as they take on Clara in Clara . All support would be appreciated.


This week’s Minor fixture(s) have not been released by the County Board when going to print but will be posted on the Raheen Club Facebook page when known.


Membership for club players has been fixed for the coming year at €15 for the first child and €10 for the second and subsequent child from each family. Membership can be paid to the relevant team managers when training re-commences.

Comments are closed.