Clara GAA Notes

Clara GAA Notes
Division 1 Football League
Clara played Ballycumber on Saturday last and won on a score line of 2-8 to 0-5. The Clara team was: Wayne Flanagan, Deasun Baggot, Gary Collins, John Flattery, Paul Mitchell, John Ledwith, Darren Coughlan, Kieran O’Meara, Paul Deehan(0-1), Stephen Deehan, John Reynolds(0-3), Stephen Kidney, John O’Hara(0-1), Joey Deehan(0-1), Thomas Deehan(0-1). Subs: Luke Kelly for S Kidney, Peter Flanagan for K O’Meara, Jimmy Taylor(1-1) for S Deehan, and Barry Cushen(1-0) for J Deehan
Division 2 Football League
Clara played Edenderry on Sunday last and lost on a score line of 2-6 to 0-10. The Clara team was: Wayne Flanagan, Noel Buckley, Sean Nolan, Nigel Monaghan(0-1), Michael Mitchell, John Flattery, Liam Monaghan, Barry Cushen(0-3), Andrew Cushen(0-1), Sam Rickard, Padraig Moran, Eoin Wyer, Gary Deehan, Chris Flanagan(0-3), Gerry Kinahan. Subs: Joey Deehan(0-2) for G Deehan, Darren Coughlan for G Kinahan, Tom Naughton (0-1) for S Rickard, Sam Rickard for J Flattery
Sunday 12th February: Division 2 Hurling League Vs Ballyskenagh in Ballyskenagh at 11.30am
Membership                                                                                                      Membership for the year 2012 is now due. Membership for the following year 2012 is the same as 2011.
MembershipRates                                                                                                   Adult playing member €50, Ordinary member €20, Underage player €20, Walkers (associate members) €20, Senior citizens €10, Registration for life members €2, Life member €250
You can now follow Clara GAA on twitter on the address: Clara_gaa_club
Weekly Club Lotto
Weekly Lotto 04/02/2012 -There was no winner of the weekly club Lotto jackpot. The winning numbers were 1-2-10-19. There were 6 match three winners. They were Breda Daly, Brendan Kenny, Anthony Tuite, Simon Hughes, Kitty Daly & Patricia Connolly . Next weeks lotto takes place in The Mill and the Jackpot is €2900. Thanks to all who support our lotto and thanks to all our ticket sellers.
Yearly Lotto Subscription
The yearly lotto subscription of 75 euro is now due and can be paid to any committee member.
SCHOOLS INDOOR HURLING                                                                                             Clara boys national school competed in the County schools indoor hurling competition last Friday in Tullamore. Their frst game was against a very well prepared Gael Scoil team and the game ended in a 6-6 draw. Claras next game was against Eoin Pol 1 where thay had a few goals to spare after a very good game. Clara played their best hurling of the day in the 3rd game against a very skillful Ballinamere side and Clara won this game on a scoreline of 8-3 but they knew that they would probably meet Ballinamerre in the final and maybe Ballinamere were holding a little bit back.
After a loing break Clara played Eoin Pol 2 and had a few to spare against the Tullamore side. This left Clara to play Ballinamere in a dream final. Ballinamere started very well and at half time had a 5-3 lead. Clara were in trouble but dug deep to level the game 7-7 with only minutes to play. It was very exciting now but the deadlock could not be broken and the game went to extra time. Clara scored first but a determined Ballinamere team leveled with the last shot. The game was now heading for golden goal but both sets of mentors and Offaly Coaching Development officer, Alan Mulhall decided that the fairest thing to do was to share the title and Alan presented Clara’s captain, Ciaran Doyle and Ballinamere’s captain, Luke Nolan with the North Offaly Indoor hurling cup.
Clara’s panel included; Sean Fleming, Mark Doorley, Nathan Bracken, Ciaran Doyle, Mark Newman, Conor Egan, Gary Kelly, Ruairi Dunne, Patrick Gaffey, Cormac Delaney, Conor Dolan, Edward Cullen and Dean Larkin

Teen Disco
There will be a Valentines teenage disco in the social centre from 8.30pm to 11.30pm on Saturday night 11th of February.

Comments are closed.